July 27, 2011

Human Jell-O!

From here.
Jell-O (and other gelatins) are used in things like desserts, marshmallows, and jellies. These gelatins are usually made from the bones and skin of cows and pigs. (One way to do it is to boil the animal bones until they turn to powder.)

Weird, right? When you’re eating Jello-O, you’re eating an animal!

Because eating cows and pigs can present problems, scientists have come up with a new gelatin that uses yeast. This yeast then has human gelatin cells put into it. And although it’s not being used in Jell-O or other jellies yet, maybe it’s only a matter of time before there’s delicious human-based jelly!
News story here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

No bad words, thanks!